Angebote zu "Birth" (24 Treffer)

Midnight at the Pera Palace: The Birth of Moder...
18,49 €
Angebot
12,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Midnight at the Pera Palace: The Birth of Modern Istanbul:The Making of Modern Istanbul Charles King

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 18.07.2018
Zum Angebot
Midnight Blue: A gripping historical novel abou...
6,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand
(6,99 € / in stock)

Midnight Blue: A gripping historical novel about the birth of Delft pottery, set in the Dutch Golden Age:ePub edition Simone Van Der Vlugt

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 18.07.2018
Zum Angebot
Midnight at the Pera Palace: The Birth of Moder...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

At midnight, December 31, 1925, citizens of the newly proclaimed Turkish Republic celebrated the New Year. For the first time ever, they had agreed to use a nationally unified calendar and clock. Yet in Istanbul - an ancient crossroads and Turkey´s largest city - people were looking toward an uncertain future. Never purely Turkish, Istanbul was home to generations of Greeks, Armenians, and Jews, as well as Muslims. It welcomed White Russian nobles ousted by the Russian Revolution, Bolshevik assassins on the trail of the exiled Leon Trotsky, German professors, British diplomats, and American entrepreneurs - a multicultural panoply of performers and poets, do-gooders and ne´er-do-wells. During the Second World War, thousands of Jews fleeing occupied Europe found passage through Istanbul, some with the help of the future Pope John XXIII. At the Pera Palace, Istanbul´s most luxurious hotel, so many spies mingled in the lobby that the manager posted a sign asking them to relinquish their seats to paying guests. With beguiling prose and rich character portraits, Charles King brings to life a remarkable era when a storied city stumbled into the modern world and reshaped the meaning of cosmopolitanism. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Grover Gardner. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/blak/006928/bk_blak_006928_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 04.07.2018
Zum Angebot
Midnight´s Children
11,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Born at the stroke of midnight at the exact moment of India´s independence, Saleem Sinai is a special child. However, this coincidence of birth has consequences he is not prepared for: telepathic powers connect him with 1,000 other ´midnight´s children´ all of whom are endowed with unusual gifts. Inextricably linked to his nation, Saleem´s story is a whirlwind of disasters and triumphs that mirrors the course of modern India at its most impossible and glorious.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 20.07.2018
Zum Angebot
Midnight´s Children: BBC Radio 4 full-cast dram...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Nikesh Patel stars as Saleem in BBC Radio 4´s epic dramatisation of Salman Rushdie´s Booker Prize-winning novel of love, history and magic. Saleem Sinai is born on the stroke of midnight on 14th-15th August 1947, at the exact moment that India and Pakistan become separate, independent nations. From that moment on, his fate is mysteriously handcuffed to the history of his country. But Saleem´s story starts almost thirty years earlier, when his grandfather, Dr Aadam Aziz, falls in love with a woman concealed behind a perforated sheet. That pivotal moment in Kashmir in 1919 sparks a series of bizarre events that will lead to a cryptic prophecy and the birth of a boy with an extraordinary destiny. As a ´Midnight´s Child´, Saleem has magical powers, and can telepathically tune in to all the other gifted children whose birth coincided with India´s division. However, his strange entanglement with the fate of India will have dramatic repercussions for both him and his country.... Adapted by Ayeesha Menon, this dazzling dramatisation of Rushdie´s many-layered, magical realist masterpiece is both an enthralling family saga and a riveting history of post-colonialism. First broadcast to mark the 70th anniversary of the Partition of India, it features Nikesh Patel as Saleem, with a star cast including Abhin Galeya, Meera Syal, Anneika Rose and Narinder Samra. Also included is an interview with Salman Rushdie, in which the author talks to radio drama director Emma Harding about his multi-award winning novel. Midnight´s Children won the Booker Prize in 1981, and was subsequently awarded the ´Booker of Bookers´ prize in 1993 and ´The Best of the Booker´ prize in 2008. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Nikesh Patel, Meera Syal, Anneika Rose, Preeya Kalidas, Aysha Kala, full cast. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rhuk/002921/bk_rhuk_002921_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 04.07.2018
Zum Angebot
Midnight´s Furies: The Deadly Legacy of India´s...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Nobody expected the liberation of India and birth of Pakistan to be so bloody - it was supposed to be an answer to the dreams of Muslims and Hindus who had been ruled by the British for centuries. Jawaharlal Nehru, Gandhi´s protégé and the political leader of India, believed that Indians were an inherently nonviolent, peaceful people. Pakistan´s founder, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, was a secular lawyer, not a firebrand. But in August 1946, exactly a year before Independence, Calcutta erupted in street-gang fighting. A cycle of riots - targeting Hindus, then Muslims, then Sikhs - spiraled out of control. As the summer of 1947 approached, all three groups were heavily armed and on edge, and the British rushed to leave. Hell let loose. Trains carried Muslims west and Hindus east to their slaughter. Some of the most brutal and widespread ethnic cleansing in modern history erupted on both sides of the new border, searing a divide between India and Pakistan that remains a root cause of many evils. From jihadi terrorism to nuclear proliferation, the searing tale told in Midnight´s Furies explains all too many of the headlines we read today. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Sunil Malhotra. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/tant/005119/bk_tant_005119_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 04.07.2018
Zum Angebot
Blaze: Midnight Fire, Book 3 , Hörbuch, Digital...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Over 200,000 Copies of the Midnight Fire series sold! From best-selling author Kaitlyn Davis comes a paranormal romance perfect for fans of Twilight, The Vampire Diaries, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Blaze is the third book in the thrilling Midnight Fire series. ´´Kira gulped, unable to stop the growing sense that everything in her world was about to change.´´ With Aldrich´s note burning a hole in her pocket, Kira is off to England to finally reunite with her birth mother. But what begins as a dream quickly turns to a nightmare and Kira is left questioning everything she has ever known. Can she be the conduit Luke wants her to be? Can she be the rebel Tristan needs her to be? Or is she something else? Something no one, not even Aldrich, ever saw coming... 1. Language: English. Narrator: Meghan Crawford. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/087853/bk_acx0_087853_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 04.07.2018
Zum Angebot
Midnight Blue-Light Special: InCryptid, Book 2 ...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Cryptid, noun: 1. Any creature whose existence has been suggested but not proven scientifically. Term officially coined by cryptozoologist John E. Wall in 1983. 2. That thing that´s getting ready to eat your head. 3. See also: ´´monster.´´ The Price family has spent generations studying the monsters of the world, working to protect them from humanity - and humanity from them. Enter Verity Price. Despite being trained from birth as a cryptozoologist, she´d rather dance a tango than tangle with a demon, and when her work with the cryptid community took her to Manhattan, she thought she would finally be free to pursue competition-level dance in earnest. It didn´t quite work out that way... But now, with the snake cult that was killing virgins all over Manhattan finally taken care of, Verity is ready to settle down for some serious ballroom dancing - until her on-again, off-again, semi-boyfriend Dominic De Luca, a member of the monster-hunting Covenant of St. George, informs her that the Covenant is on their way to assess the city´s readiness for a cryptid purge. With everything and everyone she loves on the line, there´s no way Verity can take that lying down. Alliances will be tested, allies will be questioned, lives will be lost, and the talking mice in Verity´s apartment will immortalize everything as holy writ - assuming there´s anyone left standing when all is said and done. It´s a midnight blue-light special, and the sale of the day is on betrayal, deceit...and carnage. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Emily Bauer. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/005763/bk_adbl_005763_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 04.07.2018
Zum Angebot
King, Charles: Mitternacht im Pera Palace (Buch)
28,00 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Erscheinungsdatum: 06.03.2015Medium: BuchEinband: GebundenTitel: Mitternacht im Pera PalaceTitelzusatz: Die Geburt des modernen IstanbulOriginaltitel: Midnight at the Pera Palace. The Birth of Modern IstanbulAutor: King, CharlesUebersetzung: Siber,

Anbieter: RAKUTEN: Ihr Mark...
Stand: 04.07.2018
Zum Angebot
Purpose Revealed: Discovering Your Calling in t...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Why am I going through this? What did I do to deserve this? Will the pain ever stop? If you have ever asked yourself these questions, then you are on the right path to purpose. Author Jessica Smith takes you on a journey of overcoming depression, divorce, and heartbreak. Her story of enduring and overcoming is encouraging and extremely inspirational. This book will shed light on the use of trials to birth your ultimate calling. Just as the caterpillar must endure the darkness in the cocoon to become a beautiful butterfly, your midnight season is delivering an exquisite outcome. Romans 8:28 states, ´´And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.´´ What does the word all mean? It means ALL! This means that the repossession, foreclosure, divorce, molestation, sickness, loss of your loved one, financial lack, business failure, bankruptcy, loneliness, depression, mental illness, and every injurious situation that has come your way is actually working for you and not against you. Think of it in the terms of mathematics. If a negative number is multiplied by another negative number it yields a positive number. So, the plethora of hardships that you´ve had to deal with are being used to unveil your purpose and elevate you to a greater level. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Sorrel Brigman. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/060052/bk_acx0_060052_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 04.07.2018
Zum Angebot