Angebote zu "Birth" (44 Treffer)

The Midnight of your Birth :
7,90 € *
zzgl. 3,99 € Versand

The Midnight of your Birth :

Anbieter: Allyouneed.com
Stand: 08.12.2017
Zum Angebot
The midnight of your birth
7,95 € *
zzgl. 2,90 € Versand

The angel did fly|The blackbird with one white feather|KINDNESS|The midnight of your birth|The rain tree carol

Anbieter: Deutschlands umfa...
Stand: 13.01.2018
Zum Angebot
Midnight at the Pera Palace: The Birth of Moder...
21,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

At midnight, December 31, 1925, citizens of the newly proclaimed Turkish Republic celebrated the New Year. For the first time ever, they had agreed to use a nationally unified calendar and clock. Yet in Istanbul - an ancient crossroads and Turkey´s largest city - people were looking toward an uncertain future. Never purely Turkish, Istanbul was home to generations of Greeks, Armenians, and Jews, as well as Muslims. It welcomed White Russian nobles ousted by the Russian Revolution, Bolshevik assassins on the trail of the exiled Leon Trotsky, German professors, British diplomats, and American entrepreneurs - a multicultural panoply of performers and poets, do-gooders and ne´er-do-wells. During the Second World War, thousands of Jews fleeing occupied Europe found passage through Istanbul, some with the help of the future Pope John XXIII. At the Pera Palace, Istanbul´s most luxurious hotel, so many spies mingled in the lobby that the manager posted a sign asking them to relinquish their seats to paying guests. With beguiling prose and rich character portraits, Charles King brings to life a remarkable era when a storied city stumbled into the modern world and reshaped the meaning of cosmopolitanism. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Grover Gardner. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/blak/006928de/bk_rhde_002536_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 22.11.2017
Zum Angebot
Midnight´s Children
9,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Born at the stroke of midnight at the exact moment of India´s independence, Saleem Sinai is a special child. However, this coincidence of birth has consequences he is not prepared for: telepathic powers connect him with 1,000 other ´midnight´s children´ all of whom are endowed with unusual gifts. Inextricably linked to his nation, Saleem´s story is a whirlwind of disasters and triumphs that mirrors the course of modern India at its most impossible and glorious.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 11.01.2018
Zum Angebot
Professor Midnight
22,79 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

You will love him, hate him, pity him, and fear him. His birth was prophesied by an ancient order who worshipped the Earth Goddess, Gaia, five hundred years in advance of his incarnation. Their descendents, a coven of witches based near the legendary Ston

Anbieter: RAKUTEN: Ihr Mark...
Stand: 18.01.2018
Zum Angebot
Midnight at the Pera Palace als Buch von Charle...
18,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand
(18,49 € / in stock)

Midnight at the Pera Palace:The Birth of Modern Istanbul Charles King

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 17.01.2018
Zum Angebot
From Midnight to Glorious Morning?: India Since...
18,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Mihir Bose was born in January 1947. Eight months later - and seventy years ago in August- India became a modern, free nation. The country he knew growing up in the 1960s has undergone vast and radical change. India today exports food, sends space probes to Mars, and all too often Indian businesses rescue their ailing competitors in the west. In From Midnight to Glorious Morning Bose travels the length and breadth of India to explore how a country that many doubted would survive at birth has been transformed into one capable of rivalling China as the preeminent economic superpower. Multifarious challenges still continue to plague India and Bose´s penetrating analysis of the last 70 years asks what is yet to be done for the country to fulfil its destiny. The growth has been exponential and there is much to celebrate, the predictions of doom in August 1947 have proved to be unfounded, but Bose´s nuanced, personal and trenchant book shows that it is naïve to pretend the hoped-for bright morning has yet dawned.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 29.12.2017
Zum Angebot
Midnight´s Children: BBC Radio 4 full-cast dram...
18,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Nikesh Patel stars as Saleem in BBC Radio 4´s epic dramatisation of Salman Rushdie´s Booker Prize-winning novel of love, history and magic. Saleem Sinai is born on the stroke of midnight on 14th-15th August 1947, at the exact moment that India and Pakistan become separate, independent nations. From that moment on, his fate is mysteriously handcuffed to the history of his country. But Saleem´s story starts almost thirty years earlier, when his grandfather, Dr Aadam Aziz, falls in love with a woman concealed behind a perforated sheet. That pivotal moment in Kashmir in 1919 sparks a series of bizarre events that will lead to a cryptic prophecy and the birth of a boy with an extraordinary destiny. As a ´Midnight´s Child´, Saleem has magical powers, and can telepathically tune in to all the other gifted children whose birth coincided with India´s division. However, his strange entanglement with the fate of India will have dramatic repercussions for both him and his country.... Adapted by Ayeesha Menon, this dazzling dramatisation of Rushdie´s many-layered, magical realist masterpiece is both an enthralling family saga and a riveting history of post-colonialism. First broadcast to mark the 70th anniversary of the Partition of India, it features Nikesh Patel as Saleem, with a star cast including Abhin Galeya, Meera Syal, Anneika Rose and Narinder Samra. Also included is an interview with Salman Rushdie, in which the author talks to radio drama director Emma Harding about his multi-award winning novel. Midnight´s Children won the Booker Prize in 1981, and was subsequently awarded the ´Booker of Bookers´ prize in 1993 and ´The Best of the Booker´ prize in 2008. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Nikesh Patel, Meera Syal, Anneika Rose, Preeya Kalidas, Aysha Kala, full cast. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rhuk/002921de/bk_rhde_002536_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 06.12.2017
Zum Angebot
Blaze: Midnight Fire, Book 3 , Hörbuch, Digital...
22,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Over 200,000 Copies of the Midnight Fire series sold! From best-selling author Kaitlyn Davis comes a paranormal romance perfect for fans of Twilight, The Vampire Diaries, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Blaze is the third book in the thrilling Midnight Fire series. "Kira gulped, unable to stop the growing sense that everything in her world was about to change." With Aldrich´s note burning a hole in her pocket, Kira is off to England to finally reunite with her birth mother. But what begins as a dream quickly turns to a nightmare and Kira is left questioning everything she has ever known. Can she be the conduit Luke wants her to be? Can she be the rebel Tristan needs her to be? Or is she something else? Something no one, not even Aldrich, ever saw coming... 1. Language: English. Narrator: Meghan Crawford. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/087853de/bk_rhde_002536_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 06.12.2017
Zum Angebot
Midnight´s Furies: The Deadly Legacy of India´s...
26,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Nobody expected the liberation of India and birth of Pakistan to be so bloody - it was supposed to be an answer to the dreams of Muslims and Hindus who had been ruled by the British for centuries. Jawaharlal Nehru, Gandhi´s protégé and the political leader of India, believed that Indians were an inherently nonviolent, peaceful people. Pakistan´s founder, Mohammad Ali Jinnah, was a secular lawyer, not a firebrand. But in August 1946, exactly a year before Independence, Calcutta erupted in street-gang fighting. A cycle of riots - targeting Hindus, then Muslims, then Sikhs - spiraled out of control. As the summer of 1947 approached, all three groups were heavily armed and on edge, and the British rushed to leave. Hell let loose. Trains carried Muslims west and Hindus east to their slaughter. Some of the most brutal and widespread ethnic cleansing in modern history erupted on both sides of the new border, searing a divide between India and Pakistan that remains a root cause of many evils. From jihadi terrorism to nuclear proliferation, the searing tale told in Midnight´s Furies explains all too many of the headlines we read today. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Sunil Malhotra. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/tant/005119de/bk_rhde_002536_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 22.11.2017
Zum Angebot