Angebote zu "Remembering" (3 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Don´t Wear Silver in the Winter: Remembering My...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Eddie Cantor was a huge star of vaudeville, Broadway, old-time radio, silent movies, and talkies. He was awarded an honorary Academy Award in 1956 for distinguished service to the film industry, in a long career that spanned three decades and such memorable films as Special Delivery, Kid Boots, Whoopee!, and Roman Scandals. One of his earliest paying jobs was as a singing waiter, with Jimmy Durante accompanying him on piano. Florenz Ziegfeld hired him to appear at his rooftop postshow, Midnight Frolic, in 1917. A year later Cantor made his Broadway debut in the Ziegfeld Follies of 1917, often appearing in blackface in an era that popularized Will Rogers, Fanny Brice, and W. C. Fields. After appearing on Broadway for years, he moved into radio in the 1920s. In 1931 he starred in an hour-long Sunday evening variety series that established him as a leading comedian. He also discovered and helped guide the career of singer Dinah Shore, first featuring her on his radio show in 1940, as well as other performers, including Deanna Durbin, Bobby Breen, and Eddie Fisher. Cantor also had a huge song hit in 1934, ´´Santa Claus Is Coming to Town´´, which sold 400,000 copies by Christmas of that year. Cantor capitalized on the 1929 stock market debacle by writing highly popular best-selling books of humor and cartoons about his experience, including Caught Short! A Saga of Wailing Wall Street in 1929. You can imagine how often Janet Cantor Gari heard that her mother was inadvertently as funny as her father, the legendary Eddie Cantor, and that she ought to write a book. The result was surprising, even to herself, as she uncovered her true relationship with her mother. Whether Janet is describing situations in her native New York or the nine years she lived in Hollywood, the book is completely candid. You´ll casually meet celebrities under circumstances you´d never expect, and you´ll empathize 1. Language: English. Narrator: Amanda Gari. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/blak/010210/bk_blak_010210_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Almost Impossible , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 363min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han will delight as the fireworks spark and the secrets fly in this delicious summer romance from a New York Times and USA Today best-selling author. ´´A fun and relatable summer read for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.´´(School Library Journal)When Jade decided to spend the summer with her aunt in California, she thought she knew what she was getting into. But nothing could have prepared her for Quentin. Jade hasn´t been in suburbia long and even she knows her annoying (and annoyingly cute) next-door neighbor spells T-R-O-U-B-L-E. And when Quentin learns Jade plans to spend her first American summer hiding out reading books, he refuses to be ignored. Sneaking out, staying up, and even a midnight swim, Quentin is determined to give Jade days - and nights - worth remembering. But despite their storybook-perfect romance, every time Jade moves closer, Quentin pulls away. And when rumors of a jilted ex-girlfriend come to light, Jade knows Quentin is hiding a secret - and she´s determined to find out what it is. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Phoebe Strole. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/lili/003259/bk_lili_003259_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
First World War: 1914: Voices from the BBC Arch...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A unique collection of historic recordings covering events from the last days of peace to the Christmas truce, 1914. At midnight on 4 August, Britain had declared war on Germany. The pacifist Bertrand Russell was shocked by the pro-war euphoria on the streets, yet young men enlisted willingly because ´´it would all be over by Christmas´´. It was not. Instead the opposing armies had become entrenched. It was the beginning of a long and bitter stalemate. In this new audio compilation, troops of the British Expeditionary Force vividly recall the exhausting retreat from Mons, the success at the Marne, and the first battle of Ypres, where the Territorials arrived in bright red London buses. For reconnaissance pilots, the battlefield was defined by blazing villages, and fields alive with German troops. Among the items which powerfully capture the mood of the time are an eyewitness account of the Kaiser’s reaction to the news from Sarajevo on 28 June; Margot Asquith, wife of the Prime Minister, remembering their despair at the inevitability of war; and the poignant reminiscences of civilians and soldiers. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Jonathan Keeble. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rhuk/001786/bk_rhuk_001786_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot